Curating a Minimalist Wardrobe

One of features of this townhouse that I was very happy about is a walk-in wardrobe. It’s about 10 times the size of our previous wardrobe & my clothes, accessories & bags take up about 70% of it. Funnily enough, I still suffer from the disease that most woman have, the I-Don’t-Have-Anything-to-Wear Disease & it occurs quite regularly.

I pulled out some work clothes to iron today for the week ahead (first week back of work for 2012) in an effort to be more organised & I realised that even though I have an overflowing wardrobe, I keep wearing the same outfits to work over & over. Also I don’t have enough smart work clothes.

The 5 items I pulled out for next week all came from a mid-end Australian chain store, Portmans. Roughly 2 work pants – 1 black & 1 slate grey & 3 tops all striped – a navy & white striped boat neck top, the same top but in a black & taupe colour & another black & taupe striped knit with a sweetheart neckline (with thinner stripes).

I think after years of wearing clothes that don’t suit me – I’ve finally found my uniform! The Minimalist Mom said there’s nothing wrong with that. Stripes definitely catch my eye most of the time & I want need more stripes in my wardrobe.

In summer (which is now) this is what I wear to work:

pants + simple top + flats + a chunky necklace
Sometimes I wear a dress + flats but I don’t have a separate skirt to wear
I keep a black blazer at work for meetings

In winter:

pants + knit or top & cardi + trench or coat or blazer + scarf
or dresses with black opaques + boots

I’m going to carefully curate my wardrobe this year. No more buying cheapie $5 tops that fall apart after the first wash. No more impulse buying & buying trendy items that don’t suit me. Most of my clothes (unworn or worn only once) that don’t suit me or I haven’t worn for more than 6 months will be sold on Ebay.

{image credit – Who What Wear}

3 thoughts on “Curating a Minimalist Wardrobe

  1. I’m slowly curating a ‘perfect for me’ wardrobe. It makes life so much easier 🙂

    PS. I left a comment on your goals post, but I think it disappeared into your spam folder – thank you so much for the link love/shout out. I love your plans, am intrigued by Norway and can’t wait to read more. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Friday Favourites (on a Sunday)Sammy Leia Money Saver | Sammy Leia Money Saver

Leave a Reply

